koffee with a konscience
koffee with a konscience
Cart 0
Sakami AA | Kenya | Washed
SCHOT COFFEE ROASTERS (NL)

Sakami AA | Kenya | Washed

Regular price €10,00 €0,00 Unit price per
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
F l a v o r            Orange | Chocolate | Plum 
B o d  y                Medium
A c i d i t y          sweet-sour
Producer Gloria & Jarmo Gummerus
Region Trans Nzoia County, Nabiswa
Farm/Cooperative Sakami Coffee Ranch
Roast Level light
Varietal Batian
Process Washed
Elevation 1.800 MASL
Roasting Date 24.10.22

The production
Sakami Coffee is located in the village of Nabiswa in Trans Nzoia County between the Nzoia River and Mount Elgon. The farm is owned by Gloria Gummerus, an IWCA member, and her husband Jarmo Gummerus. Although the farm was established in 2004, the first coffee trees were not planted until 2011. Sakami now has over 60,000 trees. In addition to coffee, they also grow other crops as a second source of income: Macadamia and avocado trees, as well as various vegetables. Coffee accounts for 16 of the 76-hectare farm.

Sakami Coffee also has a nursery where 100,000 seedlings can be raised each year. The coffee is fertilized using organic methods, and the foliar spray is made with worm tea from the farm's own worm farm. The worms are fed pre-treated cherry pulp to close the farm's nutrient cycle as much as possible. The water produced from grinding and washing the coffee is treated with lime in a settling tank before being used to irrigate the pastureland below, where the cows are fed. African wild bees, which live in hives around the property, pollinate the coffee.

The variety
Batian is a tall variety with a very good cup profile and good yields at high altitudes and with good growing methods. Batian has a fast maturity time and can reach its first year of production in two years. However, experience has shown that Batian varieties are biennial, meaning that they produce a good yield every two years.

 
 

en

Sakami AA | Kenia | Washed
SCHOT COFFEE ROASTERS (NL)

Sakami AA | Kenia | Washed

Normaler Preis €10,00 €0,00 Einzelpreis pro
inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten
Geschmack      Orange | Schokolade | Zwetschke
Körper               Medium
Säure                 süß-sauer
Erzeugung Gloria & Jarmo Gummerus
Region Trans Nzoia County, Nabiswa
Bauernhof/Kooperativ Sakami Coffee Ranch
Röstgrad light
Varietät Batian
Prozess Washed
Anbauhöhe 1.800 MASL
Röstdatum 24.10.22

Die Produktion
Sakami Coffee liegt in der Ortschaft Nabiswa im Trans Nzoia County zwischen dem Nzoia River und dem Mount Elgon. Die Farm ist im Besitz von Gloria Gummerus, einem IWCA-Mitglied, und ihrem Mann Jarmo Gummerus. Obwohl die Farm 2004 gegründet wurde, wurden die ersten Kaffeebäume erst 2011 gepflanzt. Inzwischen hat Sakami über 60.000 Bäume. Neben dem Kaffee bauen sie als zweite Einkommensquelle auch andere Pflanzen an: Macadamia- und Avocadobäume sowie verschiedene Gemüsesorten. Kaffee macht 16 der 76 Hektar großen Farm aus.

Sakami Coffee verfügt auch über eine Baumschule, in der jedes Jahr 100.000 Setzlinge aufgezogen werden können. Der Kaffee wird mit organischen Methoden gedüngt, und das Blattspray wird mit Wurmtee aus der eigenen Wurmfarm hergestellt. Die Würmer werden mit vorbehandeltem Kirschfruchtfleisch gefüttert, um den Nährstoffkreislauf der Farm so weit wie möglich zu schließen. Das Wasser, das beim Mahlen und Waschen des Kaffees anfällt, wird in einem Absetzbecken mit Kalk behandelt, bevor es zur Bewässerung des darunter liegenden Weidelands verwendet wird, auf dem die Kühe gefüttert werden. Afrikanische Wildbienen, die in Bienenstöcken rund um das Grundstück leben, bestäuben den Kaffee.

Die Varietät
Batian ist eine hochgewachsene Sorte mit einem sehr guten Becherprofil und guten Erträgen in hohen Lagen und bei guten Anbaumethoden. Batian hat eine schnelle Reifezeit und kann in zwei Jahren das erste Produktionsjahr erreichen. Erfahrungsgemäß sind die Batian-Sorten jedoch zweijährig, d. h. sie bringen alle zwei Jahre einen guten Ertrag.


de